应对气候危机, 银行必须停止为工厂化农业融资

一种气候危机已经结束, 新的 研究 表明减少甲烷排放是我们迅速遏制危机的最大希望. 是时候提高工业肉类行业的热度并大幅减少其对气候的危害了, 包括 32% 全球甲烷排放量. 然而,开发银行正在利用公共资金扩大这一部门,从而产生 16.5% 的温室气体排放总量 (温室气体).

在 19 和 20 十月, 数百家公共开发银行 (PDB) 将齐聚一堂参加第二届共同金融峰会,承诺推进巴黎气候和联合国可持续发展目标 (可持续发展目标). 此次峰会还将关注农业和农业综合企业转型,为这些银行提供了一个重要的机会,可以将资金放在嘴边,并调整其农业投资以实现这些目标.

各大洲的开发银行将数十亿公共资金投入跨国肉类公司,直接破坏联合国可持续发展目标和巴黎目标. 同时破坏小规模生产者的生计, 这种严重污染的工业肉类系统正在加剧气候危机, 破坏宝贵的生态系统, 宣扬虐待动物和增加动物的风险 抗生素耐药性未来的流行病.

有大量文件证明工厂化农业的破坏性影响, 一个新的全球运动, 剥离工厂化农业, 呼吁 PDB 立即停止为工业化畜牧业提供资金,并将其投资转向更公平和可持续的粮食系统. 一种 2020 调查 卫报和调查新闻局透露,在过去十年中, 只有两家银行——世界银行的国际金融公司 (国际金融公司) 和欧洲复兴开发银行 (欧洲复兴开发银行) – “为猪提供了 26 亿美元, 家禽和牛肉养殖, 以及乳制品和肉类加工”. 额外的 研究 显示前五名开发银行过去在该领域的支出超过 46 亿美元 10 年.

令人不安的, 这种趋势有增无减. 在六月, IFC 董事会批准为 Pronaca 提供 5000 万美元的新贷款, 厄瓜多尔第四大企业, 扩大集约化猪和家禽生产. 尽管遭到反对,该项目仍在推进 国际的厄瓜多尔团体, 包括土著社区,他们说他们的水和土地被公司的运营污染了.

最近几年, 美洲开发银行的私营部门部门, 美洲开发银行投资 (这也支持 Pronaca), 在拉丁美洲和加勒比地区,对工业畜牧公司的投资增加了 20 倍以上, 从大约 1500 万美元之间 2011 和 2017 到大约 5 亿美元 2018 展示.

惊人地, IDB 现在正在考虑一个新的 $43为 Marfrig Global Foods 提供贷款, 世界第二大牛肉公司, 打着推广“可持续牛肉”的幌子. 很多的 报告 已将 Marfrig 的业务与 非法砍伐森林 在亚马逊和塞拉多. 公司支付了 巨额罚款 在 2018 面对 腐败 收费, 及其牛供应商已与 人权 滥用.

全球对 Marfrig 贷款的强烈抗议. 最近 发送给 IDB 董事和总裁认为,虽然 IDB 投资贷款的目标是“无森林砍伐生产” 2025 在亚马逊和 2030 在塞拉多, “这笔贷款将支持一家公司,该公司目前的做法可能会导致这些地区进一步合法和非法的森林砍伐和侵犯人权行为,“ 多年. 这封信是由 200 环境的, 人权, 和来自世界各地的开发组织.

IDB Invest 正在考虑在森林砍伐率高的时候提供 Marfrig 贷款 增加 34% 在巴西极右翼的博尔索纳罗政权下. 这届政府, 以农业综合企业为后盾, 正在迅速 内脏环境保护 和执法同时推动灾难性的 立法议程 这将破坏森林保护和土著人民的权利. 在这种情况下, 停止为 Marfrig 等可能利用这些弱化保护措施的公司融资的紧迫性加倍.

正如在一个 绿色和平报告, Marfrig 仍然没有有效的程序来保证与非法砍伐森林或侵犯人权有关的牧场主被排除在其供应链之外. 马弗瑞格 承认 它目前无法验证来源 40% 其在巴西的间接生产. 随着土地掠夺, Marfrig 经营地区的土著土地权利纠纷和非法砍伐森林, 信件笔记, “该公司未能建立及时有效的系统来防止这些影响可能会违反多项绩效标准,并应取消 Marfrig 从 IDB Invest 获得公共融资的资格。”

虽然银行争辩说对大型畜牧公司的投资创造了就业机会, 实际上,这些贷款推动了伤害工人的部门的进一步整合和公司权力, 农民和消费者. 最近几年, Marfrig 花了 $800米 收购 BRF 近四分之一, 世界上最大的家禽生产商之一, 而另一个 $969米 获得几乎 82% 美国国家牛肉包装公司的股份. 有了这些最新的购买, Marfrig 的年度合并销售额 最高 130 亿美元. 这不是需要或值得公共援助的公司.

最终, 这些 PDB 投资巩固了破坏性的工业食品系统,使我们的气候危机恶化. 这些投资反映了世界各国政府的错误支出. 一种 最近的联合国报告 发现几乎 90% 每年全球 5400 亿美元的农业补贴中有一个是“有害的”, 最大的补贴用于工业牛肉和牛奶生产.

在拉丁美洲, 牛生产负责 70% 森林砍伐 亚马逊国家. 根据美洲开发银行, 多于 800,000 平方公里 亚马逊丛林——相当于 90% 委内瑞拉的陆地 - 已经被砍伐,为工业牲畜和动物饲料生产让路.

除非我们大幅减少肉类和奶制品的规模并迅速转向可持续的方法, 专家 项目 仅畜牧生产就可以占到惊人的 80% 的温室气体排放预算 (在 1.5C 的温度升高情况下) 经过 2050. 如果牛是一个国家, 他们将是 第三大排放国 世界上的温室气体. 少于 10 数年以防止不可逆转的气候灾难, 每一项投资和政策都必须有助于大幅减少排放,同时加强粮食安全和抵御动荡的能力.

通过结束对工厂化农场的投资, 公共开发银行领导人将向其他公共金融机构发出明确信号, 私营部门, 市场和政府认为是时候有意义地减少牲畜的排放了, 以及将补贴和投资转向高生产率的时间, 低碳生态农业. 没有时间可以浪费.

评论被关闭.

To fight the climate crisis, banks must stop financing factory farming

As the climate crisis boils over, new research shows that reducing methane emissions is our best hope to rapidly stem the crisis. It’s time to turn up the heat on the industrial meat industry and dramatically curtail its climate harm, which includes 32% of global methane emissions. Yet instead development banks are using public funds to expand this sector that generates 16.5% of total greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs).

On 19 and 20 October, hundreds of public development banks (PDBs) will gather for the second Finance in Common Summit to make pledges to advance Paris climate and UN sustainable development goals (SDGs). The summit – which will also focus on agriculture and agribusiness transformation – presents a vital opportunity for these banks to put their money where their mouth is and align their agriculture investments to meet these goals.

Development banks on every continent are directly undermining the UN SDGs and Paris goals by channeling billions of public dollars into multinational meat corporations. While undermining the livelihoods of small-scale producers, this heavily polluting industrial meat system is fueling the climate crisis, destroying precious ecosystems, promoting animal cruelty and increasing the risk of antibiotic resistance and future pandemics.

With vast documented evidence of factory farming’s destructive effects, a new global campaign, Divest Factory Farming, is calling on PDBs to immediately stop financing industrial livestock operations and shift their investments towards a more equitable and sustainable food system. A 2020 investigation by the Guardian and the Bureau of Investigative Journalism revealed that over the past decade, just two banks – the World Bank’s International Finance Corporation (IFC) and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) – “have provided $2.6bn for pig, poultry and beef farming, as well as dairy and meat processing”. Additional research shows that the top five development banks have spent more than $4.6bn in this sector over the past 10 years.

Disturbingly, this trend continues unabated. In June, the IFC board approved a new $50m loan for Pronaca, Ecuador’s fourth largest corporation, to expand intensive pig and poultry production. This project is moving forward despite opposition from international and Ecuadorian groups, including indigenous communities who say that their water and lands have been polluted by the company’s operations.

In recent years, the Inter-American Development Bank’s private sector arm, IDB Invest (which also backs Pronaca), increased its investments in industrial livestock companies more than twentyfold in the Latin America and Caribbean region, from approximately $15m between 2011 and 2017 to around $500m from 2018 to present.

Stunningly, IDB is now considering a new $43m loan for Marfrig Global Foods, the world’s second largest beef company, under the guise of promoting “sustainable beef”. Numerous reports have linked Marfrig’s operations to illegal deforestation in the Amazon and Cerrado. The company paid large fines in 2018 in the face of corruption charges, and its cattle suppliers have been linked to human rights abuses.

There has been global outcry against the Marfrig loan. A recent letter sent to the IDB directors and president argues that while the IDB Invest loan targets “deforestation-free production” by 2025 in the Amazon and by 2030 in the Cerrado, “this loan will prop up a company whose current practices will likely lead to further legal and illegal deforestation and human rights violations in these regions,” for years. The letter was sent by 200 environmental, human rights, and development organizations from around the world.

IDB Invest is considering the Marfrig loan at a time when deforestation rates have increased 34% under Brazil’s far-right Bolsonaro regime. This administration, backed by agribusiness, is rapidly gutting environmental protections and enforcement while pushing a disastrous legislative agenda that will destroy forest protections and the rights of Indigenous peoples. In this context, it is doubly urgent to halt financing for companies like Marfrig that could take advantage of these weakened protections.

As documented in a Greenpeace report, Marfrig still has no effective procedures in place to guarantee that cattle ranchers linked to illegal deforestation or human rights violations are excluded from its supply chain. Marfrig acknowledges that it cannot currently verify the source of 40% of its indirect production in Brazil. With land grabbing, indigenous land rights disputes and illegal deforestation in regions where Marfrig operates, the letter notes, “the company’s failure to establish a timely and effective system to prevent these impacts would likely violate multiple performance standards and should disqualify Marfrig from receiving public financing from IDB Invest.”

While the banks argue that investments in giant livestock corporations create jobs, in reality these loans propel further consolidation and corporate power in a sector that harms workers, farmers and consumers. In recent years, Marfrig has spent $800m to acquire nearly a fourth of BRF, one of the world’s largest poultry producers, and another $969m to acquire almost 82% of shares in US-based National Beef Packing Co. With these latest purchases, Marfrig’s annual combined sales top $13bn. This is not a firm that needs or deserves public assistance.

Ultimately, these PDB investments entrench a destructive industrial food system that worsens our climate crisis. These investments mirror the misguided spending of governments worldwide. A recent UN report found that nearly 90% of the $540bn in global agricultural subsidies each year are “harmful”, with the largest subsidies going to industrial beef and milk production.

In Latin America, cattle production is responsible for 70% of deforestation across Amazon countries. According to the Inter-American Development Bank, more than 800,000 sq km of Amazonian jungle – equivalent to 90% of Venezuela’s landmass – has been deforested to make way for industrial livestock and animal feed production.

Unless we dramatically scale back meat and dairy and move swiftly to sustainable methods, experts project that livestock production alone could account for a whopping 80% of the world’s budget for greenhouse gas emissions (in a 1.5C temperature increase scenario) by 2050. If cattle were a nation, they would be the third largest emitter of greenhouse gases in the world. With less than 10 years to prevent irreversible climate catastrophe, every investment and policy must help greatly reduce emissions while bolstering food security and resiliency to weather upheavals.

By ending investments in factory farms, public development bank leaders will send a clear signal to other public finance institutions, the private sector, markets and governments that it’s time for meaningful emissions reductions from livestock, and time to shift subsidies and investments toward highly productive, lower-carbon ecological farming. There is no time to waste.

Comments are closed.