Take part in the third Young Sportswriter of the Year competition

The Guardian and the book series Football School are launching our third Young Sportswriter of the Year competition, open to all seven- to 12-year-olds in the UK and Ireland. Last year saw an incredible richness and energy in the students’ entries with the two winners producing outstanding pieces, nine-year-old Rebecca Close winning one age category by writing about Jack Leach’s glasses, while Eleanor Walsh, 11, finished top among the older students with an article focusing on the British triathlete Vicky Holland.

Leach was so impressed by the piece that he has agreed to be one of the judges this year. The England cricketer is joined on the panel by, among others, golfer Ian Poulter, Olympic gold medallist Christine Ohuruogu, Team GB cyclist and Giro d’Italia winner Tao Geoghegan Hart, the World Cup winner Per Mertesacker, former England striker Rachel Yankey, the Arsenal defender Lotte Wubben-Moy and the former England rugby player Catherine Spencer.

Entries should consist of one piece of writing, which can be either a match report of a sporting event that has taken place, or a profile piece about an athlete of their choice. The maximum is 600 words but the article can be shorter and it may be about any sport.

The winning entries in each age category will receive:

Their competition entry published by the Guardian.

An online writing workshop with a top Guardian sports journalist for their class.

A £100 sports voucher

The full series of 10 Football School books

The runners-up in each category will also receive the full series of ten Football School books. The writer must be between seven and 12 years old on the day the piece is sent in. Entries can be submitted from Tuesday 8 June until 6pm on Tuesday 10 August. Entries can be submitted by parents or schools, with teachers able to submit multiple entries from their class.

Marcus Christenson, football special projects editor at the Guardian, disse: “I am delighted that we have so many high-profile judges from different sports this year, including Ian Poulter and Lotte Wubben-Moy. The energy and inspiration of the pieces from the first two years bode well for the future of sports journalism in this country and I am excited to see if this year’s entries can match them in quality. I am sure they will.”

Football School is a book series that opens up the school curriculum through football and encourages children to develop a love of reading and a curiosity about the world. Ben Lyttleton and Alex Bellos, authors of Football School, disse: “We are thrilled to partner with The Guardian for the third year of the Young Sportswriter of the Year competition. Sport has so many amazing stories and we know it can inspire and expand young minds – and with so many great sports events coming up this summer, we cannot wait to read this year’s entrants!"

To see more information and to enter the competition please click here.

I commenti sono chiusi.