马特汉考克事件的进一步影响

如果不 10 坚称在任命 Gina Coladangelo 到 Matt Hancock 的部门时遵循了“正确的程序” (汉考克和科拉丹吉洛: 需要回答的问题, 27 六月) 由纳税人承担, 我建议招聘政策需要彻底改革.

执政和竞选之间的区别似乎已经变得明显模糊, 但可以肯定的是,政治任命人员在保守党竞选总部工作似乎是合乎逻辑的, 与在政府部门工作的人不同, 被公务员委员会聘用的人没有恩典或恩惠.
安吉拉·克罗夫特
伦敦

在 15 六月, 内阁首脑迈克尔·戈夫, 两侧是部长和公务员, 推出了一个鲜为人知的 改革议程 为公务员. 该公告包括“增强非执行董事的角色”. 鉴于两周前的这一公告, 流程清晰和透明度肯定比以往任何时候都更加必要?
大卫·布伦克特
劳动, 上议院

实际上是约翰克雷斯启动了马特汉考克的垮台. 去年年初 (消化周, 3 四月 2020), 在汉考克感染 Covid 之后, 克雷斯写道: “仍然, 至少我们明天汉考克回来了. 虽然我经常取笑他的跳动性和有效性之间的反比关系, 我很喜欢他,因为他绝对是一个善意的部长,我给他发了一条信息说是这样, 以及早日康复的希望. 他回答说,让我不要向任何人提及这件事,因为这会毁了我们俩的职业生涯。”

幸运的是, 约翰仍然高高在上, 但他后悔那些话吗??
詹妮弗·亨利
伦敦

请你停止发布每日照片好吗? 马特·汉考克 和他的“助手”. 过去多米尼克·卡明斯的无尽画面已经够糟糕了, 但至少他们想到的都是他买衣服的习惯.
伊莎贝拉·斯通
谢菲尔德

评论被关闭.

Further fallout from the Matt Hancock affair

If No 10 insists that the “correct procedures” were followed in appointing Gina Coladangelo to Matt Hancock’s department (Hancock and Coladangelo: questions that need answers, 27 June) at taxpayers’ expense, I suggest the recruitment policy is in need of a drastic overhaul.

The difference between governing and campaigning seems to have become markedly blurred, but surely it would seem logical for political appointees to work from the Conservative campaign HQ, unlike those working in government departments, who are recruited by the civil service commission without grace or favour.
Angela Croft
London

On 15 June, cabinet supremo Michael Gove, flanked by ministers and civil servants, launched a little-noticed reform agenda for the civil service. The announcement included “enhanced roles for non-executive directors”. In the light of this announcement two weeks ago, clarity on process and transparency are surely more necessary than ever?
David Blunkett
Labour, House of Lords

It was actually John Crace who kickstarted Matt Hancock’s downfall. Early last year (Digested week, 3 April 2020), after Hancock had had Covid, Crace wrote: “Still, at least we have Hancock back tomorrow. Though I have frequently made fun of the inverse relationship between his Tiggerishness and effectiveness, I am quite fond of him as he is definitely a minister who means well and I sent him a message saying so, along with hopes for a speedy recovery. He replied asking me not to mention this to anyone as it would ruin both our careers.”

Fortunately, John is still riding high, but does he regret those words?
Jennifer Henley
London

Will you please stop publishing daily pictures of Matt Hancock and his “aide”. The endless images of Dominic Cummings in the past were bad enough, but at least all they brought to mind were his clothes shopping habits.
Isabella Stone
Sheffield

Comments are closed.